• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

1999 Juliets

smurnahan

Oakley Beginner
Atlanta, GA
Ok, I am a total noob looking for info most of y’all probably know off the top of your head. Please don’t destroy me. 😂

On a ski trip in 2002, I bought a pair of polished Juliets with polarized fire lenses on a whim. I almost can’t put into words how cool they looked skiing, but I ended up putting them in a drawer when I got home; they were a bit flashy for just driving to the grocery store. I’ve maybe worn them 3 times total. I ran across them last weekend while going through that chest and decided to take them out of the box.

The foam underneath the sunglasses had disintegrated into some sort of sticky dust. 😒 The semi-circular piece of foam wasn’t much better, but it didn’t fall out like the bottom foam did. I was pleased to see that I kept the papers, the Oakley protective bag, and the rubber inserts that change the tightness of the frames at the temples. (I still had the receipt in there!) The coin lodged in the box indicates they are 1999 Juliets.

I cleaned off the sunglasses and they look great – the one flaw, which sort of puzzles me, is that the polarized coating on the right-side lens is clearly deteriorating. It’s not noticeable unless you look closely where the lens goes beneath the frame at the top. But I am surprised because they have virtually never been worn. Apart from that, the lenses look brand new. The word “polarized” is etched into the inside of the left lens at the bottom.